All About Me

 

BioPicSmall

Me with some family artwork.

The Short Story: 

I split my childhood between Philadelphia and an island off the coast of Maine, spending most of my time in costume, directing my younger siblings in lavish living-room productions, and trying to get lost in the woods.

I earned my BA in Creative Writing and History from Skidmore College in New York. After teaching dance and drama for a year, I moved to England where I received an MA in Writing for Children from the University of Winchester. My first book Dreamer Ballerina was published in the UK in 2011 (published as Someday Dancer in North America in 2012).

I currently live in Hampshire, England with my husband and two children. When I’m not writing, I like to grow vegetables in our back garden. And when it’s raining too hard to garden, I like to sew quilts.

 

Back Garden

Our backyard veg patch in early spring.


 

A few fun facts:

  • I have 2 brothers and 2 sisters, 2 mothers and 2 fathers AND 4 sets of grandparents.
  • I am very short. Seriously. You are probably taller than I am. (I’m 4 feet 11 and 3/4 inches… but I usually round-up and tell people I’m 5 feet tall.)
  • I can play the ukulele, but not very well.

 


 

Interviews:RubinBallet

When Dreamer Ballerina came out in the US (as Someday Dancer), I did this interview with Ballet Connections: http://balletconnections.com/SarahRubin

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s